Classical Studies

Division of Classical Studies

The Division of Classical Studies fosters the study of Ancient Greek and Latin Literature, Papyrology and Epigraphy. The Classics Faculty uses new and old methods in teaching and interpretation and pays special attention to the cultural contexts in which ancient texts were produced. The Division has two Labs that promote in-depth study of documents and literary texts, the Lab of Papyrology and Epigraphy and the Research Centre of Classical studies.

Our Faculty has diverse interests: epic, lyric poetry, Attic drama, oratory, Pre-Socratic and Platonic philosophy, historiography, Hellenistic poetry, Greek and Roman epigram, Roman lyric, Greek and Roman novels, the literature of Late antiquity, religion, mythology, the interaction of literature with material culture, papyrology and epigraphy.

We offer our students plenty of opportunities to acquaint themselves with the international scholarly community thanks to a wealth of scholarly events that are regularly organized. In addition to invited lectures and to conferences on a variety of topics we host the biennial international conference on the ancient novel (RICAN), a periodic conference on ancient emotions (in collaboration with the University of Patras), and conferences on song/dance in collaboration with the Network for the Study of Archaic and Classical Greek Song.

Members of Division of Classical Studies

HEAD OF DIVISION

  • Konstantinos Apostolakis

    E-mail: apostolakis@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 77289

    Office: 109 READ MORE

PROFESSORS

  • Lucia Athanassaki

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Professor

    E-mail: athanassaki@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77286

    Office: 004 READ MORE

  • Stelios Panayotakis

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Professor

    E-mail: panayotakis@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77284

    Office: 105 READ MORE

  • Konstantinos Spanoudakis

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Professor

    E-mail: spanoudakis@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77265

    Office: 005 READ MORE

ASSOCIATE PROFESSORS

  • Konstantinos Apostolakis

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Associate Professor

    E-mail: apostolakis@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77289

    Office: 109 READ MORE

  • Dimos Spatharas

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Associate Professor

    E-mail: spatharas@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77288

    Office: 104 READ MORE

  • Helen-Melina Tamiolaki

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Associate Professor

    E-mail: tamiolaki@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77282

    Office: 107 READ MORE

ASSISTANT PROFESSORS

  • Athina Kavoulaki

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Assistant Professor

    E-mail: kavoulaki@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77269

    Office: 007 READ MORE

  • Zacharoula Petraki

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Assistant Professor

    E-mail: zpetraki@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77272

    Office: 014 READ MORE

  • Georgia Tsouni

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Assistant Professor

    E-mail: gtsouni@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77268

    Office: 008 READ MORE

LABORATOTY TEACHING STAFF

  • Eva Astyrakaki

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Laboratory Teaching Staff

    E-mail: e.astyrakaki@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77294

    Office: 024 READ MORE

  • Nikos Litinas

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Laboratory Teaching Staff

    E-mail: litinasn@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77380

    Office: 108 READ MORE

  • Helen Papadogiannaki

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Laboratory Teaching Staff

    E-mail: e.papadogiannaki@uoc.gr

    Telephone: 28310-77295

    Office: 023 READ MORE

  • Dimitris Perodaskalakis

    Division: Classical Studies

    Rank: Laboratory Teaching Staff

    E-mail: perodaskalakis@uoc.gr

    READ MORE